Off to Guatemala I go..

This morning I’m leaving for a ten-day trip to Guatemala. On this trip, I hope to learn from others. I hope to love others. I hope to see a glimpse of the world they live in. I hope to make some new friends. I hope to learn more about the adults that I’m traveling with. I hope that I make an impact. I hope that someone makes an impact in my life. Most importantly, I hope I learn a little bit more about who God is and what he can do in a human heart.

For the past 5 months people have asked me if I am excited to go on my mission trip. I hesitate to say, “Yes, of course I am!” I hesitate because I do not view this trip as a mission trip. I don’t have any intention of going to Guatemala to change lives. I don’t have a goal that I want to complete, something that I want to change, or people that I want to help. I don’t really have a mission or anything that I need to accomplish other than seeing the beautiful scenery and meeting new people. If anything, I’m going to Guatemala to have my life enriched by those that I will interact with. I’m going to learn a little bit more about love, laughter, and relationships. I’m going to learn more about ministry. I’m going to learn more about myself. I’m going to learn more about the God who created me, loves me unconditionally, and uses me in ways that I will never be able to comprehend.

Right now I’m sitting on my parents couch, waiting for the clock to strike 2:30am, and anxiously awaiting this journey that I’m about to embark on. I’m thinking about all of the people I will miss, the phone that won’t be picked up for 10 days, the things that I might have forgotten to pack in my suitcase, the weight of my over packed suitcase, and the mountains that I will soon see. In a few hours I’ll hop on a plane and fly to a foreign country to join my neighbors and walk alongside them as they walk alongside me. I’m guessing we will laugh, cry, reflect, and share stories. I’m also guessing that we will say, “No way! Me too!” as well as, “Wow, I cannot imagine experiencing something like that.” I’ll somehow communicate with them with only taking 3 years of high school Spanish. I’ll do my best to be the hands and feet of Christ in the only way that I know how to… by loving everyone and embracing every moment. In a few hours I’m embarking on a journey that is less about changing lives and more about building relationships through the one thing that we all have in common: God’s love.

Maybe I’ve got it all wrong and if I do, I’ll be sure to write about it. For now I’ll stick with this though and trust that God is up to something that my heart and brain will eventually wrap itself around.

About kknutson001

I'm just a 26 year old seminary student who is trying to figure this life out while finding God in the ordinary and extraordinary moments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

